HAVVK release new album ‘To Fall Asleep’

Ever-evolving alt-rock outfit HAVVK‘s raucous new album To Fall Asleep is out now via Veta Records.

HAVVK have crafted a tumultuous rollercoaster ride of anxiety, paranoia, and the longing for reconnection, soundtracked by harder edges and sharper hooks than ever before. Bassist Julie Hawk and Matthew Harris (guitar, vocals) journeyed up to Belfast to record the LP with producer Rocky O’Reilly (Wheatus, And So I Watch You From Afar) at Start Together Studio. Since moving back to Ireland after fostering music communities in Berlin and London, HAVVK have discovered a new, unabashed confidence. HAVVK’s first two albums boast slow builds, languorous and dramatic sonic moments, and a layered sound; the band aimed for more immediacy on To Fall Asleep, and that urgency shines through. The singles released from the album so far have captivated audiences in Ireland and abroad, enjoying airplay on KEXPBBC Radio 1RTÉ 2fmBBC Radio UlsterRadio X, and numerous others.

Talking about the album, Hawk says, “we started talking about sleep a lot as a band a few years ago when I was experiencing insomnia. I was waking up with an unshakable feeling of urgency, like I was forgetting something and then letting my thoughts spiral for hours. Sleep was something I had always taken for granted, so at first this felt like a huge betrayal from my body. But it wasn’t really. Actually, it was my body trying to tell me something. I had to really listen to it, and examine how honestly I was living my life, and how much energy I was giving to things that I didn’t have the capacity for.”

Julie (bass, vocals), Matthew Harris (guitar), and former Bitch Falcon drummer Nigel Kenny—create grunge- fuelled music, packing a powerful punch that leaves you pining for more. HAVVK’s emphasis on social issues in their art— from bodily autonomy to “filthy landlords” is reflected in their commitment to connecting with fellow artists. Hawk herself aims to uplift DIY musicians with SelfMade, an organisation which uses workshops and other events to connect artists with each other and with industry names. Bolstered by a growing network of fans and collaborators (including Pixie Cut Rhythm Orchestra, in which Hawk plays bass), HAVVK are keen to get people on the dance floor with their gritty, arresting music.

Since moving back to Ireland after fostering music communities in Berlin and London, the three-piece has discovered a new, unabashed confidence. HAVVK have been championed by notable taste-makers like The Line of Best FitClashThe GuardianDIY and many more, with notable placements on Spotify editorial playlists such as New Music FridayAlternative GenerationAlternative Ireland, and Fresh Finds Rock, as well as Apple Musicʼs New in Rock and New In Alternative. The band have received national and international airplay from KEXPBBC 6MusicBBC Radio 1Radio XAmazing RadioRTÉ and 2FM to name a few.

HAVVK are bringing their riotous live show to stages across Ireland and the UK this March and April in celebration of their third album:

21st March 2024 – Ulster Sports Club, Belfast
22nd March 2024 – The Cellar @ Workman’s, Dublin
28th March 2024 – The Shacklewell Arms, London
29th March 2024 – Rough Trade, Bristol
4th April 2024 – Róisín Dubh, Galway


Track List:

1. Daylight Robbery
2. Expiry
3. Strong Possibility
4. You Say You Won’t
5. White Noise
6. To Fall Asleep
7. Take It From Me
8. Keep It to Myself
9. City Creep
10. Waste of Time
11. Nobody Told You

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *