EP Review: As We Leave – Stop Making Plans

Editor's Review
Share Button

Following on from the release last month of single Rarely Been So Long, Isle of Wight fourpiece As We Leave have today released their new EP Stop Making Plans.  It serves as the follow-up to 2020’s Everything To A Point and is perfect listening for a balmy summers evening. 

The EP opens with lead single Rarely Been So Long which is punctuated by gentle guitar strums which set a melancholic air. Entwistle’s vocal is downtempo and restrained, whilst also being peppered with nostalgia. The percussion and guitars are amped up at the chorus where Entwistle’s Kevin Parker-esque vocal is softened by the silky-smooth harmonies. The track harks back to a bygone age with its off-kilter beats and a smattering of psychedelic synths and there’s a roughness around the edges that lends a homegrown appeal.  

We then move on to What We Became which is all achingly cool reverb and folksy guitar strums. Entwhistle’s deep vocal glides smooth as silk between the beats and the strings. There’s an airy, breezy vibe to the track which contrasts heavily with the subject matter of the lyrics. “It’s a cruel, cruel world that your sons endure… now the world’s on fire and there’s no denying that we’ve been lied to” is hard-hitting and the track deserves a few plays to fully absorb its message. 

No Atlas is another downtempo offering where the Kevin Parker vocal similarities can surely not be denied. There’s a beautiful layering of atmospheric harmonies, moody guitars and a delicate bass where every aspect plays in harmony with Entwhistle’s moody vocal. The smattering of keys and breezy harmonies lend the track a retro, homegrown vibe, and certainly make it a stand-out on the EP. 

Wood For The Trees is another vibey affair where the accompaniment is pared back and highlighted by subtle synths and reverbing guitars. The psychedelic elements are understated but entwine magically with Entwhistle’s delicate vocal. The deep, brooding bass guitar provides a wonderful contrast to the electronic elements and barely-there keys which elevate the track. It’s a dreamlike closer to end on and highlights what an achievement this EP is.  

Comprising of Caine Entwistle (Vocals, Guitars, Bass, Synths), Kyle Abram (Guitars, Bass, Drums, Keys, Synths, Percussion), Tom Gardner (Guitars, Bass, Keys, Drums, Vocals) and Kit Jolliffe (Drums, Guitars, Percussion), As We Leave bring the nostalgia of bygone island days to their tracks. All four members met at a young age on the Isle of Wight and came together to form As We Leave, going on to release their first EP Everything to a Point in 2020. The band wrote, produced and recorded Stop Making Plans themselves and the result should serve as an inspiration to other bands that the hands-on approach can yield the greatest of results.  

Stop Making Plans is available to stream now. Find out more about As We Leave here and have a listen to Stop Making Plans below. 

Share Button

PREMIERE: New York Pavements ‘Slam The Door’

We are extremely proud to premiere New York Pavements‘ incredibly powerful and compelling new single right here at Fortitude HQ.

Continue reading...

Single Review: Venus Grrrls – Violet State of Mind

All-girl alt-rock group Venus Grrrls have released their pounding new single Violet State of Mind. The track is the follow-up

Continue reading...

Single Review: Dylan James – Let’s Talk

London-based singer-songwriter Dylan James has released his new single Let’s Talk. It’s a thought-provoking track that showcases his ability to write

Continue reading...